Uncategorized

My take on Watch The Stove.

artworks-000155767878-a26y56-t500x500

When I heard about this, I wondered “What the hell is this?!” I saw the cover art on my Twitter feed around the time it came out and saw that the cover art reminded me of the cover to “Watch The Throne” from Kanye West and Jay-Z. I was not sure if it was a real album or just fan-made artwork until I found out that it was a mixtape that was put together. The idea of Hamburger Helper putting out a mixtape and having recording artists rapping and/or singing about its food seemed really odd to me, and then I read that it was the point. Sources have said that it was an April Fools joke and that it was meant to be funny. The truth about this mixtape is that it was no joke. What really matters is the quality of the production and the lyrics, no matter what the subject matter is.

In a lot of ways I feel that I should have written about this around the time it came out. Oh well, better late than never, right?

The song “Feed The Streets” has a sick beat to it and the lyrics talk about cooking food and beef with lean. Never would I have thought that raps about cooking food would sound interesting.

“In Love With The Glove” was a rather mellow song and it reminded me of some stuff that Drake had done when he sang on his songs. The guy who sang actually has a good voice. The funny thing about this song is that if you don’t listen to the lyrics, you won’t realize that he sang about food.

I have to say that the song “Food For Your Soul” has the feel of a mellow rap song similar to songs from Talib Kweli or A Tribe Called Quest. The guy who rapped on the track has a decent flow and he just straight rapped one whole verse in this song. Plus, the song is a little different as it isn’t about exactly about the food you eat, but it rather stuff to learn. Hence its title.

When I listened to “Hamburger Helper,” it reminded me of some songs from T.I., and I am unsure if that is what the people involved went for, but it was one of the best tracks that I heard on this mixtape. However, I can’t say the same thing about “Crazy,” which for the majority of it drove me, well, crazy. Not a terrible song, but it was a little repetitive at first until the second half of it.

Never would I have thought that a rap mixtape that Hamburger Helper released would have actually been solid. I mean, sure, the subject matter on most of the songs was odd, but if you listened to it, the topics can be looked past and you can still bump to the music. Was it the greatest thing I have ever heard? No, but it’s far from the worst. In fact, it wasn’t bad at all. I recommend you check this out. You have to hear it to believe it.

If you want to hear it, check it out here. Peace!

Standard

Leave a Reply

